Latest Posts

Costume Designers Guild Awards 2018: Winners List

‘’The Shape of Water’’ and ‘’I, Tonya’’ took home some of the best awards at the Costume Designers Guild Awards (2018) held in Beverly Hills, California on Tuesday night.

Showing their support for the Time’s Up movement – a phenomenon which started at the Golden Globes and continued at the Oscars, most of the nominees attending the Designer Guild Awards wore black to show solidarity with the movement.

Among those honored were included the likes of Kerry Washington and Guillermo Del Toro, both of whom won the Distinguished Collaborator and the Spotlight award, respectively.

John Mohlo, the Oscar-winning costume designer who is famous for his designs in the “Gandhi’’ and ‘’Star Wars’’ series, was posthumously included in the Hall of Fame of the Costume Designers Guild.

While it was Jennifer Johnson who won the excellence in contemporary film category award for his work in ‘’I, Tonya’’, other nominees included Arianne Phillips for “Kingsman: The Golden Circle,” Nadine Haders for “Get Out,” and April Napier alongside Melissa Toth for “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.”

The award for excellence in the period film category went to Luis Sequeira for “The Shape of Water”, leaving behind the likes of Ellen Mirojnick for “The Greatest Showman,” Jeffrey Kurland for “Dunkirk,” Mark Bridges for “Phantom Thread,“ and ” Alexandra Byrne for “Murder on the Orient Express.”

For the excellence in contemporary television for designs category, Ane Crabtree was declared as the winner for her designs in “The Handmaid’s Tale.”

Jean Petrie got the excellence in period television category award for her effort in ‘’The Crown,’’ and for sci-fi fantasy designs – it was Michele Clapton who was honored for her work in ‘’Game of Thrones’’.

Full Winners List of Costume Designers Guild Awards 2018:

“I, Tonya” (Jennifer Johnson): Excellence in Contemporary Film
“The Shape of Water” (Luis Sequeira): Excellence in Period Film
“Wonder Woman” (Lindy Hemming): Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film
“The Handmaid’s Tale” (Ane Crabtree): Excellence in Contemporary Television
“The Crown” (Jane Petrie): Excellence in Period Television
“Game of Thrones” (Michele Clapton): Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television
P!NK – “Beautiful Trauma,” Music Video (Kim Bowen): Excellence in Short Form Design
Joanna Johnson: Career Achievement Award
Guillermo del Toro: Distinguished Collaborator Award
Maggie Schpak: Distinguished Service Award
Kerry Washington: Lacoste Spotlight Award

Latest Posts

Don't Miss